A serious post.

*This is a more serious/personal post than what is usually posted on my blog as it deals with loss and grieving. For those of you who read my blog for my swatches and reviews, I apologize, and you may just want to skip this post.*

I’m going to break out of my swatch and review mode for a moment to get a little serious and personal. Yesterday I found out my Aunt Winnie passed away, and it hit me pretty hard. After I heard, I cried for a good long while, thinking about my family on the East Coast, so far away from me, thinking about my family getting older, thinking about the ones I love and how temporary things can be. My aunt was 95, and so yes, it was going to happen eventually – but still, it hurts. I hate that the people we love have a timestamp. I hate that they can’t be in our lives forever. But that’s the way it is, and that’s what makes us human, and that’s what makes us alive.

I couldn’t sleep last night and was still feeling sad, so I decided to do a mani in my Aunt’s honor. Perhaps this seems a bit silly – painting your nails to honor someone? But painting my nails is something I’ve come to enjoy and find comfort in, and in a way it can be an art form. And I think she would have liked it, maybe.

My aunt was kind, introverted, and intellectual. She had a dog who was her best friend; when we were young she used to say it was his birthday every time we visited, and we would have a small birthday cake and she would give us small presents from him. It wasn’t until I got older that I realized she’d done it as an excuse to give us little gifts.

My main memory attached to my aunt, though, was going to her house on hot summers days and spending hours in her pool. She had one of those round, above-ground pools and my siblings and I thought it was just the bees knees. We’d come over and she would have inflated a giant inflatable giraffe and killer whale for us, and they would be slowly floating around the pool, beckoning to us to jump in and grab them. We’d dive in and play for hours.

So I tried doing my first artistic mani in honor of my Aunt Winnie, inspired by that pool. I remember how the water would beam like a blue gem, and the sun would glint on the surface. I tried to recreate that here.

I think you could almost dive into them, like blue water. I think my Auntie Winnie would have liked them. I’ll always remember those warm summer days fondly.

4 comments

  1. How fitting….Aunt Winnie is smiling, now to get that dog polish for her doggie, Amber. Such a well written post and touching…

    1. Thanks 🙂 I thought about doing a golden retriever manicure, but wasn’t sure how to go about doing that. I have such fond memories of swimming in her pool, though, too.

Leave a Reply

